Mini Double Feature Tasting Review #1

Okay, so my wife and I are kinda super cute.  We like to get mix six packs so that we can have home beer tastings with a couple of the beers over the weekend. We try to get some beers that we wouldn’t normally try out since we are just having 6oz of each. Yes, I know we are pretty much the most puke inducing couple in the world, but enjoy reading about at least one of these non-puke inducing beers!
New Belgium Brewing Company–Whizbang–Blonde Ale– In general, I don’t really go wild for blonde ales because they tend to be too mild in flavor for me, and are a little on the sweet end. This take on a blonde ale pushes it closer to a hoppy pale ale flavor than anything else, and keeps the mild drinkability of a blonde. Whizbang could have had a more flavorful malty backbone to it, but per their bottle info, they apparently think they do. It is 5.7% ABV and 45 IBU. It is hopped up with Mosaic hops, which I am kind of a sucker for. While I don’t agree that this beer is a hop explosion, as it is marketed, I would say that it was a nice hop Pop!  I give it 3.75 Fizz pops out of 5!

Magic Hat Brewing Company–Vamplifier–Hoppy Red Ale–For starters, in good Magic Hat fashion, this has a sweet label! That is about the only thing redeeming about this beer. I love red ales, especially when they are described as hoppy, like this one . My wife and I looked all over  and we could not find any of the hops this beer claimed to have. On top of falling flat on the hops, this beer also had bland malt to it ( usually what makes a red ale a red ale!) The front end is actually promising, but the back will leave you sad. Cascade and magnum hops are said to be living in this beer, but are likely overshadowed by the poor performance of the malt character. It has 5.2% ABV and 60 IBU.  Unfortunately, the 60 IBUs don’t have enough flavor to ride on, and taste a little bit like bum on the back end. I give this beer a dismal 1.75 taste sucking vamplifiers out of 5.

Leave a Reply

